The National Flag of WalesThe South Wales Junior Cricket League

Producing Test and County Cricketers since 1973

                Affiliated to: Cricket Wales

Our League Logo

Home Page
League Officials
Chairman's Address
League News
League Rules
Fixtures 2016
Results 2015
League Tables 2016
League Tables 2015
League Finals 2014
League Finals 2015
Club Contacts
Links to other sites
Australia Tour 1998
Barbados Tour 2009
County Cricketers
Rep Matches
Coaching Tips
Ways of getting out
Cricket Terms
Did you know?
Roll of Honour
Members Area
Contact Us
Glamorgan Fixtures 2016
Secretary's Report 2015


Cricket Terms

The Ball
The ball is hard, made of cork and string, and covered with leather. The leather covering is joined in two hemispheres. The seam is thus like an equator, and the stitching is raised slightly. The circumference is between 22.4 and 22.9 cms (8.81 to 9.00 inches), and the ball weighs between 156 and 163 grams (5.5 to 5.75 ounces). Traditionally the ball is dyed red, with the stitching left white.

The Bat
The blade is made of willow, flat on one side, humped on the other for strength, attached to a sturdy cane handle. The blade has a maximum width of 108 millimetres (4.25 inches) and the whole bat has a maximum length of 965 millimetres (38 inches).

Three wooden posts, 25 millimetres (1 inch) in diameter and 813 millimetres (32 inches) high. They have spikes extending from their bottom end and are hammered into the ground in an evenly spaced row, with the outside edges of the outermost stumps 22.86 cms (9 inches) apart - close enough together that a cricket ball cannot pass between them.

The bails are two wooden crosspieces which sit in grooves on the top of adjacent pairs of stumps. Each bail is 11.1 cms in length.

Wicket: Consists of three stumps stuck into the ground in such a manner so that the ball does not pass between them.

Pitch: The area between the two wickets where the batsman bats and the bowler bowls is the pitch.

Crease: The area marked in white around the wicket. This is the area from which the bowler has to throw the ball without extending his foot beyond the white line. This is the same area, only opposite the bowler, from which the batsman bats. If he is out of the white line he could be dismissed once the wicketkeeper has the ball.

Over: Six balls bowled by a bowler completes an over. After the completion of an over a new over begins from the other end by a new bowler.

Maiden Over: When there are no runs scored in an over except legbye & byes, it is known as a maiden over.

Four: When a ball is hit by the batsman along the ground and it passes the boundary, the batsman scores 4 runs.

Six: When a ball is hit directly over the boundary, the batsman gets 6 runs.

Overthrow: When a batsman runs for a run and the fielder tries to hit the wicket, misses and the ball goes far enough for the batsman to take another run. The run taken after the throw from the fielder is known as an overthrow.

No ball: When the bowler's foot steps way over the white line the umpire shouts out "no ball." The batsman cannot be out on this ball. One run is given to the batting side and an extra delivery is bowled after the no ball.

Wide: If a ball is way out of the reach of the batsman it is declared a wide. One run and an extra delivery is penalized.

Byes: When a ball passes the wicket untouched by the batsman and the batsman runs for a run, it is known as a bye.

Leg byes: A ball when hit on the batsman's pad and the batsman runs for a run, it is known as a leg bye.

Bowled: A batsman is declared out when the ball bowled by the bowler hits the wicket.

Caught: A batsman is out when a fielder catches the ball hit by a batsman before it touches the ground.

LBW: Short for Leg Before Wicket. A batsman is declared out when the ball hits the batsman's leg pad and it seemed like the ball was going straight on to the wicket.

Runout: A batsman is declared run out when the fielder hits the wicket before the batsman touches the white line of the crease while running for a run.

Stumped: A batsman is out when while hitting a shot he is outside the crease and the wicketkeeper touches the wicket with the ball in hand.

Cricket Categories

There are two different types of cricket matches played at international level:

Test Match: The first Test match was played between Australia and England in Melbourne in 1877. Australia won that match. South Africa played its first Test match in England in 1907 and it also took over Australia. During this period a number of Test playing nations arrived -- West Indies in 1928, New Zealand in 1930, India in 1932, Pakistan in 1952, Sri Lanka in 1982, and Zimbabwe in 1992. Bangladesh were the latest to become a test playing nation in 2001 although many critics reckon that they should not be included as they are not good enough.

A Test Match is a test of a player's skill and talent of this game. It is played for five straight days, each day for about 6-7 hours. In a Test match each team is limited to two innings. Each day a quota of 90 overs are to be bowled unless bad light or weather causes the play to be interrupted. The side batting first will try to score as many runs as possible to give the opposing side a target to chase. The side bowling first tries to get the other side out quickly so that they can not only achieve the target but also build up a lead for the second innings. The captain of a team may decide to declare his team's innings if he feels they have set a good enough target for the opposition. Most of the Test matches end up in a draw because some teams play for all five days, some play for about 3 days which makes it hard to finish the other innings, and some matches are affected by weather conditions like bad light or rain.

One-day Internationals (ODIs): One-day internationals began in 1971 because of the long boring days of Test matches. One-day matches are exciting because it is faster and a result is always achieved within one day at the end of the match. One-dayers have become a threat to Test matches because of its fast scoring and exciting aspects. The first one-day international match was played between Australia and England at Melbourne on 5 January, 1971. This was a new revolution in cricket, which attracted 46,000 spectators and produced $33,000.

A one-day match is a limited over match. Today one-dayers consist of each side batting for 50 overs. At some point in time it used to be 60 overs. The match goes on for about 7 hours. The team batting first sets a target for the opposing team which will bat on completion of the 50 overs and after a 45 minutes lunch break. 

Each bowler is allowed to bowl a maximum of 10 overs. If all the 10 players of a team get out before the alloted 50 overs, lunch break is taken and the opposing team bats to chase the target. The team bowling second tries to get all 10 players of the opposing team out before they can pass the total number of runs that they scored when they batted. Another way that a team can win is by controlling the run rate, meaning that the team bowling second can win by bowling all 50 overs and not letting the opposition reach the set target, by controlling the flow of runs, within the 50 overs.

This website was designed, and is maintained by John Davies 

JD 2002-2015       E-mail: